Page 1 of 1

3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sun May 03, 2009 1:17 am
by zuzuf
3DMEditor 2 now has some Ambient Occlusion features :)
It can generate a lightmap of ambient self occlusion using current set of UV coordinates (you need to have UV mapping finished).
With a very basic UV mapping you can get this:
Image

The algorithm is still very slow and noisy (this is a first draft, I already implemented such algorithms so I know how to fix this).
The idea is you can make your texture without the lightmap, then you build the lightmap (it creates a new texture) which will be blended with other textures unless you use a GLSL shader.

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sun May 03, 2009 7:11 am
by Balthazar
Sounds like a very handfull feature for modellers :P

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sun May 03, 2009 10:00 am
by zuzuf
yeah, lighting effects are very important for realism, they give some volume to the image (remove all lighting effects and you get a flat image).

I've tested it with some of the HD models we have, it gives convincing results (even with bad UV mapping)

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 6:12 am
by Balthazar
Acording to Trac (dragonteeth), 3DMeditor2 now can convert Spring models to 3dm? Is it so?

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:26 am
by xpoy
:P
There will be a new version.
And this will made spring mod data useable? And they can convert spring mods to TA3D's more eazyly

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:38 am
by zuzuf
Unfortunately, no, I imported an OBJ model, and autogenerated a lightmap for it. Since dragon teeth don't need more than the light map, it's all nice but it's not applicable to other models.

But don't worry, Spring model support is planned :wink:

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 7:44 pm
by zuzuf
3DMEditor 2 now supports Spring models :P

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:14 pm
by Balthazar
zuzuf wrote:3DMEditor 2 now supports Spring models :P
That`s the really thing to make notice to!!! Now we can have all the 3D map features that Spring have!!!!!!

NEW BUILD IS HIGHLY REQUIRED.

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:45 pm
by zuzuf

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 8:12 pm
by xpoy
should post topic in spring bbs for this.
Maybe some men will help in convent some spring part
I mean, involve some spring things, for example some new maps features:)

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 10:00 pm
by zuzuf
as soon as I rewrite the mesh code in TA3D I'll add support for Spring models directly in the engine (their format is far from complex but our mesh code has become too difficult to maintain and too ugly - it's the same code for all kind of models/formats even if they don't support the same features).

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 7:23 am
by xpoy
OK, got it.
Keep doing AI, some things confused. Thought lots good play styles for rush...

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:50 pm
by Balthazar
3DMEditor2 is fucking awesome!!!!

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:55 pm
by Balthazar
I`ve been playing with 3DMeditor2 for some time. Is there any way to add texture to model? I mean currently it can only show s3o objects without texture. How can I convert thet to 3dm with texture?

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 7:01 pm
by Balthazar
I`m starting to understand a bit.

All the stuff is in the additional windows - Surface and Texture?

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:52 pm
by zuzuf
The texture window shows UV-mapping and the first texture of the texture set used for the selected object.
The surface properties window allows you to change all the properties of the selected object surface.
The model tree window allows you to edit the model structure (the links between objects like arm, body, etc ...) using your mouse and a few buttons (just drag & drop).

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:44 am
by Balthazar
It seems like I will have to create a 3DMeditor2 documentation, since It`s kinda hard to understand all the stuff without detailed docs. I`ll post teh begin of it here so you can fix me if i wrong.

P.S. Sadly - Reflection effect doesn`t work in 0.6.0. A13. When reflection effect will be implemented in TA3D? It will be very usefull for metal deposites.

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:32 am
by zuzuf
It is already implemented actually.
There is a problem with display lists, they can't render objects using multitexturing (multitexturing function calls are not recorded :evil: ) and since display lists are used to render static objects, those static objects won't be rendered with reflections.

Also setting up a reflective material may not be obvious:
you need at least one texture, the last texture of the set will be used as the reflection texture (so it better be a nice environment map). When you have several textures, the color settings on the right of the window will modulate the reflective texture (so you don't get a fully reflective material, or only in a specific color, etc ...).

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:50 am
by Balthazar
So there is no way to make metal deposits with reflections? But how about trees? I suppose trees are not static objects, since they can be animated and destroyed ingame. Am i right?

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:53 am
by zuzuf
a feature model is static if it doesn't move (using the default animation), so currently all our tree models are static. The only dynamic model we have so far is the radar tower :P. But that model rendering code is a bit buggy right now (because of display lists not supporting multitexturing :evil: )

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:10 am
by Balthazar
So can the trees and metal deposint be made as dynamic objects or added multitexturing to them? Or it will reduce the perfomance?

So right now we can use only a single texture on all static objects?

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:14 am
by zuzuf
it is possible but would reduce performances. You just have to enable the default animation flag and put no animation data (all to 0) and you'll get a static animated object.

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:56 am
by Balthazar
Where can i change animation flag? Can`t find it in 3DMEditor2... :cry:

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:59 am
by zuzuf
ooops, 3DMEditor2 is not finished, this option was implemented in 3DMEditor1 but animation is not implemented yet in 3DMEditor2 (I would like to have an animation module dedicated to this task, with scripting support to write unit scripts)

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:14 pm
by Balthazar
Can i set animation flag in 3DMeditor1 and then reopen in 3DMeditor2 to add reflection? Or the flag will be reset?

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:18 pm
by zuzuf
You can try (the flag should not be reset), but you may face incompatibilities between the last version of 3DMEditor1 and current 3DMEditor2.

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:05 pm
by Balthazar
Hell, 3DMeditor1 doesn`t work on windows 7 :P

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:07 pm
by zuzuf
did you try XP compatibility mode ?

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:29 pm
by Balthazar
Yes, it just crashed.

P.S. I`ve managed to convert Spring model to ta3d format and tested it.

- metal deposits should also be rotated randomly when map created, just like the trees!
- somehow textures for s3o are inverted and a have to flip textures so they fit UV map. Thanks for flip button in 3DME2 :P

I hope I`ll make many 3D features to replace TA ones soon :P

Image

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:31 pm
by zuzuf
nice :)

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:17 am
by Balthazar
Here`s a small set of map features in 3dm format. They can be used to replace sprite ones.

http://neonuclear.ru/ta3d/3dms_features.rar


A question - can GLSL be applied to static map features?

Re: 3DMEditor2 : Ambient Occlusion

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:54 am
by zuzuf
I didn't test but I think because of display lists it won't work.