wish list for TA3D 0.6.0

You think of something which could be added to TA3D post here! /
Vous pensez à quelque chose que l'on pourrait ajouter à TA3D, postez ici!
Post Reply
User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

wish list for TA3D 0.6.0

Post by zuzuf » Sun Dec 28, 2008 12:20 am

TA3D 0.5.x is there, so now we're going to start working on 0.6.x (devel branch), we'll maintain here the wish list for these version :). So post here any idea that isn't in the main goals of this version:
_switching from Allegro to SDL + use SDL_TTF to add TTF support (for chinese/japanese/russian... translations)
_optimize a few things (particle engine, shadows, ...)
_improve networking
_...
for the full list, see our trac
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Sun Dec 28, 2008 8:21 am

- perfect the movement code (so units won`t stuck anymore around)
- implement correct aircraft behaviour
- add support for Shift+(patrol, gurd command)
- make underwater units path map independent from naval ones.
- switch sprite cannon projectile with 3D one

User avatar
Maximum
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:06 pm

Post by Maximum » Fri Jan 02, 2009 8:29 am

All things Balthazar posted. :-)

Ability to disable shadows for Tree features specifically. Would be nice for maps with lots of tree's (when using the custom 3D ones TA3D has)

The ability to set custom build orders for the AI or even just the weight/limits being interpreted by TA3D.

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Post by xpoy » Fri Jan 02, 2009 6:57 pm

hi everybody, long time to see.

hmm,i remeber TA by supercommander, in 2006 i saw a photo of sup,it look like very hign Resolution in TA,but that time i don't know TA.
just remeber it,i think this is my game,thus, when i find TA before 5mouths,i start be a TAer

yeh,this my seggestion:
make a view that Fixed in Vertical angle,and Regulation need be more Flat.
i don't know how to explain clear it,but it should eazy to understand for TAer.
well,infact TA3d supported Fixed in Vertical angle,but why not make a Dedicated?

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Fri Jan 02, 2009 7:48 pm

I am not sure I understood what you mean ... you want a camera without perspective ? It would render exactly like in TA.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Post by xpoy » Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:17 am

no perspective.
look like TA, and only need narrowing the gap :D

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:26 pm

hmm because of the engine design it'll be difficult to do this, so it won't appear in 0.5.x branch, but I think we can add a camera model very similar to orthogonal projection (by settings the viewing point very far from screen)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:10 pm

Maybe it`ll be a VERY nice option :) EXACT TA perspective :twisted:

User avatar
Maximum
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:06 pm

Post by Maximum » Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:52 am

Allow factory buildings the ability to fire weapons, despite scripting them properly and such they won't fire their weapons.


New FBI tag:

UnitRestricted=#;

Basically no more than the # defined can be built of a specific unit at any one time.

TA Spring supports this tag, would be nice to have it in TA3D for modding purposes. :-)


Lastly, make polygons render double sided. :-)

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Post by xpoy » Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:36 pm

there need a Shortcuts help
:oops: even i played long time, i don't know how to change direction

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:06 am

Currently you can`t rotate buildings if you are asking about it :D

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:22 pm

This is a tough one. Units footprints on the map are not designed to be rotated easily. We'll see, may be not for 0.6 but for the next one.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:20 pm

As far as i see this - the desired angles of rotation are 90, 180, 270. No need in mid-values. Rotation was added in some TA mods (for example Absolute Annihilation).

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:39 pm

in that case it could be done with only a few modifications, the problem becoming "how do you chose orientation ?" which could be done easily:
just hold the mouse button and a small (but not too small) move would give the direction (and we already have most of the code to do that :) )
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Wed Jan 14, 2009 9:05 pm

We should think about the best fitted way to rotate - maybe holding mouse button, maybe add some key... I vote for mouse :)

Doors
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:53 pm
Contact:

Post by Doors » Wed Jan 14, 2009 11:11 pm

Balthazar wrote:We should think about the best fitted way to rotate - maybe holding mouse button, maybe add some key... I vote for mouse :)
Since most people by this point have mice with scroll wheels perhaps enable rotation with a click on the scroll wheel then choose by rotating it then click again to make this the new default orientation for this item.
That would allow the scroll wheel to still do zoom in out without requiring any keyboard use or mouse movement.

Could be for just this time choosing or as the new default rotation until changed.
Could also be for all construction units or unit by unit.

Sorry I haven't updated my site for a while, I've been busy with a couple WELL paying projects.
I will be updating about the first I think but definitely by valentines day.
Don't just look at the future through a window.
Open a door and go there.
http://ta3d.freedoors.org
http://www.freedoors.org
http://baencd.freedoors.org

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Wed Jan 14, 2009 11:16 pm

unfortunately click on scroll wheel makes camera go in mouse move mode which is useful when building :)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Thu Jan 15, 2009 7:35 am

Then rotation should be done by holding mouse button :)

As I see it - you press and hold LMB and click RMB to rotate building on 90 deg.

User avatar
Maximum
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:06 pm

Post by Maximum » Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:32 am

Just make it like C&C Generals or Company of Heroes.

Left click to place the center of the building than pick another point away from that point to set the "front" direction. Easy and quick. :-)

Also adding formations would be nice too for mobile units. IE: left click and hold in a direction to set the lineup direction.

BPzeBanshee
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:12 am

Post by BPzeBanshee » Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:47 am

I'd wish for a proper fix over that TA-Excess glitch that only happens in TA3D.

You know, the commanders like teleport in with that awesome explosion effect, but then you can't see the unit, and it won't build anything.

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:23 pm

hm, yes that one may be fixed before 0.6 ;), it's a 0.5.x bug :p
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Maximum
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:06 pm

Post by Maximum » Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:55 pm

Todays suggestions, some new fbi tags for air only units.

AirHoverFactor=X: Where x is the amount the unit bobs up and down, 0 for none and 0.1 for a bit, and so on.

Dontland=X; Usefull when combined with the fbi tag above. If set to 1 the the air unit won't land and just stays in the air inplace if set to 0 it will land normally when it reaches its destination.

AirStrafe=X; Since the air unit doesn't have a vtol attack its default would be to strafe attack the target. Setting this tag to 0 would tell the unit to attack inplace and not move once it was in range of the target. Setting it to 1 would set the unit to attack strafe like it normally would.

These tags would be very nice to have for many reasons, my own project not withstanding. :-)


It would be also cool if these two tags worked properly as well. :-)

WeaponMainDirX= x y z;
MaxangledifX= degree;

Since they make multiple weapons possible without shooting through the hull of the unit by setting an attack arc.

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:57 pm

it's strange that those tags don't work, do you have related messages in the logs ?

The other extra tags shouldn't be too hard to implement :wink:
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Maximum
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:06 pm

Post by Maximum » Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:15 am

Logs don't show anything saying the tags are bad.

Weaponmaindir1 = 0 0 1;
Maxangledif1=60;

Should force the unit to fire forward (as the 3rd number is the Z coordinate) and 30 degrees from the left to the right (60 is the total angle)

Doesn't do anything the units turret can spin right around.

Even testing this with 3 turrets shows no limitation to firing direction or angle.

With all the tags mentioned we can have some really great space and naval mods. If they find their way in there it would be quite nifty. :-)

BPzeBanshee
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:12 am

Post by BPzeBanshee » Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:03 am

That'd be awesome, but first that issue with the Aircraft movement needs to be fixed. I do believe someone mentioned this already.
Unless of course, you INTENDED the aircraft to move about like the Railway Express in Half-Life. :P

TA-Excess issues fixed in 0.6.0? AWESOME! Maybe now I could actually play something decent on my Mac.

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:21 pm

hm currently it's not fixed in 0.6.0, actually lots of things are broken in current 0.6 code (because of SDL port)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Tue Jan 20, 2009 2:32 pm

... and will be fixed soon (as i suppose :P )

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Tue Jan 20, 2009 5:24 pm

well, currently we're hard at work on SDL port, but this doesn't mean we can't fix things on 0.5 branch :P (but we may be less reactive though)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Post by xpoy » Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:16 am

eh,air need be small,it Looks too big。
about build rotateing,i think just add different Towards bulid can be ok.
eh,lots player had Accustomed to selecet rotate by Small arrow in build icon .well, i mean that play TA mod.

BPzeBanshee
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:12 am

Post by BPzeBanshee » Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:51 am

That is true, xpoy. I'd assume that such items that are like that with their GUI standalone such as zwgsg's Galactic Gates would be more compatible with TA3D if that function was implemented rather then the mouse function.

neuralshock
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:31 pm

Post by neuralshock » Sat Apr 11, 2009 3:41 pm

Some requests...

- Pack the install utility in it's own executable, not inside the main TA3D app
- Change the perspective icon to something more similar to the buttons TA uses (maybe a simple button with the required captions)
(edited to add request below)
- OSX build instructions! :)

hirsoft
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:33 am

Post by hirsoft » Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:38 pm

Special command sequences, in can not be interrupted before the completion of the command sequences, such as the unit out of the factory setting for this is the command unit will not move and stuck the whole election. Ctrl + S in the front line without disrupting the deployment of projects.

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Wed Apr 15, 2009 9:52 am

the resource installer requires high level HPI access, so it is easier to implement it in TA3D code but we could run it from the installer itself yes.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

hirsoft
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:33 am

Post by hirsoft » Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:52 pm

How about made a unit manager like TA:M?

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:36 pm

The main goal of the project remains finishing the engine and making a free set of resources, not making tools unless they are really needed for the project (we're lacking man power for the core stuffs so we cannot afford that kind of things).
=>;-D Penguin Powered

hirsoft
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:33 am

Post by hirsoft » Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:35 am

You are ture.
Now for 0.6beta:
I got nothing from log,but it crashed(?) a lot times,the system lost control,or a bug made total system Unable to respond.
I feed this a lot times lose control in 0.6 beta,forgot the Results of 0.5's.
Any set,just Xp windows,and any computer,the system lose control in 10 mins.It is a harder bug.
I alway build a Factory,and some energy,then moved com,shift camera,i no any idea in this confused bug.

And ta3d.mod,it need added a tab that made ta3d look spec file as spec data,like:
"scrop.3dm = .3do"

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Tue Apr 21, 2009 8:44 am

It's probably an issue with Lua scripts. Try to remove Lua unit scripts in ta3d/scripts/ it may help.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

hirsoft
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:33 am

Post by hirsoft » Tue Apr 21, 2009 1:01 pm

no,it no help.
I think some wrong in ati drive.I'm try some other driver,may i can fixed by try some no-ati card.
I install ati_omega_38442 instead VGA_XP_070129 as card driver,then i find it stop crash.It just halt some frames,then normaly.After some times,again.
I find kobt lab some time couldn't start build unit.Adv and normal kob lab some time couldn't close Export.Maverick couldn't fire some times,and its move like Fly,no any action,just dolly......
The most importand,unit forgot how to Executive my order(bomber's attack,unit's far and tortuous move.
i used 70angle Camera,but it control like 90 angle,if i order unit attack Enemy,it's good,but the control trouble when i order in Surface.

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:55 pm

hm, yeah these are bugs introduced in the new unit scripting interface with weapons.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

hirsoft
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:33 am

Post by hirsoft » Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:49 pm

yes.
I find that attck as soon as saw Enemy was the OTA Most concerned about.I delete the all "luo" then about 2/3 forgot how to fire.When i delete all"luo" and "h",the game could't work.that cause "nothing in screen".
I find TAESC_2_0_ALPHA_2 feed a great wrong in ta3d,all the Defensive structure couldn't attack at Enemy's units,i must control it attack surface for fire.

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Tue Apr 21, 2009 8:43 pm

several lua headers are required by game scripts, if you remove them, game scripts won't work (that's why no unit is spawned on the map).
=>;-D Penguin Powered

slogic
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: RF, Bryansk
Contact:

Re:

Post by slogic » Fri Sep 25, 2009 3:22 pm

Balthazar wrote:We should think about the best fitted way to rotate - maybe holding mouse button, maybe add some key... I vote for mouse :)
I prefer with "[" & "]" keys. Anyway this feature is low priority because we was living too long without this feature in OTA. Also as was mentioned earlier this could be "fixed" by a mod, i.e. UberHack.

DOT
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:56 am

Re: wish list for TA3D 0.6.0

Post by DOT » Sat Sep 26, 2009 10:18 am

Hrmpf..


AI that can learn and is compatible with almost all Mods
"Awesome Imba" Particle System featuring - bouncing , collision , damping and so on..
"Realistic" Ballistic System
the ability to do Turret-less Tanks/Turrets and so on.. *
Dynamic Velocity for Groups meaning that fast Units and slow Units doesn't get "Scatter" too far from each other just because they are (too) slow/fast
Gadget (mod side) support so Mods can have much more complex Gameplay *
Widget (client side) support *

the Gadget/Widget would be useful to do shiny Post-Process effect , Distortion etcetera..
Or creating own Particle System

*some of my Wish-list is already possible on Spring RTS which is CPP/Lua how hard would it be to salvage it from there?

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: wish list for TA3D 0.6.0

Post by zuzuf » Sun Sep 27, 2009 10:17 am

everything that is related to GUI would be quite difficult to extract from Spring and reuse in TA3D, it would probably be easier to implement it from the ground up.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest