New forum for translations :)

self-explanatory :) / Tout est dans le titre
Post Reply
User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

New forum for translations :)

Post by zuzuf » Fri Jun 05, 2009 8:29 pm

So now that TA3D can support all languages we need the associated translation files :D.

Currently we have:
  • English (native language used in TA3D, full support)
  • French (native language of some developers :D, full support)
  • Chinese (full support, xpoy is providing it)
  • Japanese (old, very incomplete)
  • Spanish (incomplete, some translations in OTA files)
  • German (no TA3D support, some translations in OTA files)
  • Italian (no TA3D support, some translations in OTA files)
  • German (no TA3D support, some translations in OTA files)
Adding translations is as easy as writing the associated *.po file in resources/languages. It's a simple file with a TDF structure encoded using UTF-8 and starting with (it can be anywhere but it's better if it's at the beginning):

Code: Select all

[info]
{
    name=language name in English lower case;
    caption=name displayed in config menu (you can abuse of UTF-8 symbols);
}
I suggest you look at french.po and chinese.po for more details and an almost complete list of strings to translate.
NB: All text displayed in TA3D can be translated, so if you see something that is not, just add the corresponding translation in the *.po file and it'll be translated (game must be restarted for changes to be taken into account).

Note: All text in translated files should be in UTF-8 symbols!
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by Balthazar » Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:29 am

Russian translation is done.
http://neonuclear.ru/ta3d/russian.po

Done some tests, all seems to be working nicely.

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by xpoy » Mon Jun 08, 2009 10:30 am

:)
We should asked some guy in TAU is help in translate to other language

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by Balthazar » Mon Jun 08, 2009 10:35 am

What for? I feel very comfortable with English ta3d :P Translation was made - "just to have another one language"

Also, with the current development stage of the TA3D - knowing english is essential :P, and averybody in TAU knows english quite good.

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by xpoy » Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:40 pm

For made some guys inner TA3D, hehe :D
Infact not only TAU, not only TA forum, just talk TA3D in anywhere.

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by Balthazar » Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:46 pm

Well, when Ta3d become more playable, it`ll attract more people to play and make translations to different languages. The main goals are Engine and Gameplay

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by xpoy » Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:01 pm

Yes, you are truely. and it's keep progress
I will updata Chinese translation in here for forums parting.

This is newest translate, landscape grammar and delete some no useful tag.
Chinese.rar
(4.25 KiB) Downloaded 1768 times

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by zuzuf » Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:12 pm

Updated.

Balthazar: don't forget the ru.ta3d.txt file for intro :D, without it nothing is displayed in intro screen.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by Balthazar » Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:34 pm

Updated un UTF-8.

9.06.09
Attachments
ru.ta3d.zip
(1.19 KiB) Downloaded 1712 times

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by zuzuf » Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:49 pm

Updated.

NB: TA3D uses UTF-8 encoded text files ... other encodings won't work (except those compatible with UTF-8 like ASCII-7 :D)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Griswoldz
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 11:26 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by Griswoldz » Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:59 pm

I just finished polish translation file. Still it needs some testing and tweaking before uploading. I'll do that just after i'll fix some problems with TA3D on my computer (Why two posts which i wrote in help board still aren't approved? :? ).

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by xpoy » Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:38 pm

Look at TA3D! A total TA remake
TA3D was a camera moveable Total Annihilation
Really better than launguga explain.

Install:
Unpack The TA3D pack. At first got the newest pack from ta3d.org->download. Or got the svn version from TA3D Forum.
After unpack TA3D, you should put OTA's totala1.hpi and some map into TA3D folden for playable, if you want add some 3rd units, just move into TA3D folden, then all done.

FAQ

MOD
TA3D had a great mod suppent
TA3D suppent all OTA file format, play the OTA mod was simple for TA3D.
Create new folden in "ta3d/mods/modNick", and put all mod file in this folden. Run TA3D, you can used this mod by choose it in Option->game->mod
But some time the mod need a ta3d.mod for work, you should asked in TA3D forum when you need special ta3d.mod. You need ta3d.mod when the mod couldn't load complete.
This due to some HPI folden name could change by change totala.exe, then TA3D didn't what folden mean what.
A ta3d.mod example
[MOD]
{
unit_ext = .fbi;
unit_dir = 3Dunit;
weapon_dir = 3Dweap;
download_dir = 3Ddownload;
}
Surely you can write ta3d.mod by yourself. Check the HPI folden name by Hpi view
This is all ext that beable reset
MOD.unit_ext
MOD.unit_dir
MOD.model_dir
MOD.download_dir
MOD.weapon_dir
MOD.guis_dir
MOD.gamedata_dir

Another mothed. Repack the mod file into OTA HPI folden name. Unpack by hpiview, pack by hpipack(tacc pack)

Some time mod factory couldn't work well or some units was wrong. You should delete cache folden in TA3D then run TA3D in new.

Window
When you enter the game, there was 4 botton in mainmenu, one is Option. There was "Display" "Audio" "Game" in the Option. You can play game in window by set Display->Full screen off
Multi Rotate
You can play some mod like TA33A that had multi rotate, TA3D is TA remake.hehe

Camera
Camera zoom no limit, zoom out at most, it was the Strategic View like the SupCom
Press FreeCom logo for change Camera Free or normal.
In FreeCom, you control camera as a FPS game, use keyboard arrow for move camera.
In normal camera, you can press Middle Mouse for fine-tuning.Roller the Middle Mouse for zoom

BackMusic
Put the "wma/map3/mod" music files into "TA3D\music", Run TA3D, it will creat a playlist.txt when your music beable play in game.And you can change Music type(Battle/normal) by add/delete * before file name that inner playlist.txt

Command
It was F8/~ for enter in command, but not enter chat.

Game Process
TA3D no default win condition.
All game control by lua script.
annihilation.c is like default.c except that you have to kill all your enemy's units to win whereas in default.c, killing the commander will end the game.
defense.c was a simple script game for TD(tower defense) in land.
And yes!You can write script/ control game by yourself, like a sea TD script change from land TD.

Game Load
Make sure don't put diffrent version pack in same folden, all need reload when the game version diffrent from cache.It will cost long time more than run TA3D first time.
Run TA3D first time will cache lots things.
Infact, every first in TA3D will cost turely more time than afterward first. Load game data, load maps, load menu, be patient at first

Game Launguage
Crazy! TA3D could suppent all launage, it due to a good fot and utf-8. And in now, TA3D total suppent English/ Russion/Chinese.
Change the launage from option->game->Launguage

Game Crash
Download Newest version when you meet crash.
If it still happen, send ta3d.log and config file to forum, all guys are honor to help you.
ta3d.org/forums/index.php
And some common crash could fix by check ta3d.log:
The point alway in last.
script wrong: delete all .lua file in TA3D/script
some garbled: upload ta3d.log this is memory flow
texture wrong : close GLSL
ati video card should be careful, you alway need newest version for not crash. Serious, the ati video card driver gave you a BSOD.It due to ati card video no and never updata driver.

/:^]
TA3D just 0.54 beta at now, it was very low, the TA3D 0.6 will rock anyone.a

Screen wrong
If you meet the texture couldn't see (modle be black), you should download newest version for this, or just close texture cache(Prefer don't do this, nither the game load time will cost 1 year)
If you meet the chaos color texture, close Texture compression. It will fix in ta3d 0.6
If you found some map features was bad look, the features remake need your help.You can found to-do in here:
http://trac.ta3d.org/browser/trunk/src/ ... /ta3d/TODO
If you feel mouse slowly, change mouse speed in option->game. Play in full screen and used low shadow also help in this
And in last, you should alway keep your version in newest, every updata fix some bugs, and you meet these old bugs when used old version.



Forgot which topic was talk about this, but it really need grammer fix.
This is translate from my Chinese TA3D topic, hehe

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by Balthazar » Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:14 pm

But it`s good anyway :P

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by zuzuf » Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:25 pm

Yeah good :)
Griswoldz wrote:I just finished polish translation file. Still it needs some testing and tweaking before uploading. I'll do that just after i'll fix some problems with TA3D on my computer
That's great :)
Griswoldz wrote:(Why two posts which i wrote in help board still aren't approved? :? ).
Maybe because no moderators saw it :oops:
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Griswoldz
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 11:26 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by Griswoldz » Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:30 pm

Balthazar you forgot to encode ru.ta3d.txt to UTF-8. I tested it and it crashes. Please fix that :).

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by Balthazar » Tue Jun 09, 2009 6:16 am

Fixed, sorry :P
Intro text tested - all works fine. Get it from my post above.

User avatar
Griswoldz
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 11:26 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by Griswoldz » Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:46 pm

Polish translation is completed *uploads*. If somebody'll find any bug in it then please contact me :D.
Attachments
Polish translation.rar
1.0v
for TA3D 0.6 and up
(4.46 KiB) Downloaded 1699 times

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by zuzuf » Tue Jun 09, 2009 11:13 pm

Ok, I've added it to the SVN repository :).
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by Balthazar » Sat Jun 13, 2009 11:01 am

Some fixes in Russian translation.
Attachments
russian.rar
(3.88 KiB) Downloaded 1747 times

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by zuzuf » Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:06 pm

updated :)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by xpoy » Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:42 pm

Newest translat.
This maybe work for 0.6
Attachments
CN.rar
(4.24 KiB) Downloaded 1675 times

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by zuzuf » Sun Jul 26, 2009 12:26 pm

updated :)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

Flashbang232
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:59 pm
Location: Behind LOIC

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by Flashbang232 » Sat Feb 05, 2011 4:55 am

I was gonna say if this was for people translations i would welcome any spanish person here......
living near the border its easy to pick up spanish when your a baby.....lived in san diego yay i learned spanish from a druggy......
wait.....no. thats bad. but good.
i guess....

ta3d is smart if it knows those languages then its 280rwerwerr8e42r320trlingual and has 7 degrees of arts in the awesomeness.

lol but ta3d deciphers languages!!?1/1??!?!?? sliced BrEAd!!?!?!?
When you cannot trust your government to lead the nation to better times is when you know the ship is sinking

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by zuzuf » Sat Feb 05, 2011 1:24 pm

It doesn't really decipher, when TA3D has to display a string, it looks in a file for a translation. These files are in the resources/languages/ folder (http://trac.ta3d.org/browser/trunk/src/ ... /languages).

Currently the Spanish translation file contains only the minimum. If you want to help you can complete it (use the french.po file, it contains the list of most strings to translate). You only need a text editor :).
=>;-D Penguin Powered

Flashbang232
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:59 pm
Location: Behind LOIC

Re: New forum for translations :)

Post by Flashbang232 » Sat Feb 05, 2011 6:39 pm

well a lot of the spanish words i know are also cuss words, idk if you want the single player button looking like a f-bomb. :P
im not necessarily fluent but i can translate a little bit, i may be of assistance here
When you cannot trust your government to lead the nation to better times is when you know the ship is sinking

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest