TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

title is self explanatory / le titre est explicite non ?
Post Reply
User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by zuzuf » Sat Mar 20, 2010 11:06 pm

This new beta brings lots of bug fixes and it also brings LuaJIT as Lua VM ! There is no more lua dll, it's all built statically and you can't "disable" LuaJIT, if the JIT can't produce native code, it falls back to an interpreter which seems much faster than official Lua interpreter.

List of important changes:
  • LuaJIT :)
  • the Arm brawler now shoots properly
  • global aiming accuracy has been improved for moving targets (submarines aim properly now)
  • several rendering bugs have been fixed
As usual the package is available through FTP:
ftp://downloads.ta3d.org/binaries/windows/dev/0.6/

NB: it's still possible to build TA3D with the official Lua interpreter for those who might be interested in comparing it with LuaJIT or in porting TA3D to platforms not supported by LuaJIT.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by Balthazar » Sun Mar 21, 2010 10:05 am

Niiiice :P
Let`s see how it`ll work :P

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by xpoy » Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:45 pm

testing /:^}
As usually, public a thead in here:
http://taclub.net/taclub/newta/thread-11368-1-1.html

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by Balthazar » Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:50 pm

Found a bug.

When launched with TA3D free resource set game halts on LODING GUI process. I`ve found that the cause is Anims folder. Can`t say more detailed. Any ideas?

Without Anims folder all works fine, of course :)

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by zuzuf » Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:12 pm

hm I can't reproduce it. Did you clear the cache when you switched to free data set ?
=>;-D Penguin Powered

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by xpoy » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:39 am

as I said in past, maybe we need a eip loger.
That exit process, crash, or what ever unknow close, loged the current eip of every thread tho. That's helpful, it can eazly local the function which crashed game


crash maybe when list map(? confused in this, maybe not map-relax)
it crash due to ebx==-1 which not 0 but a invalid ptr

this function look like this maybe:
int sub_0_634A24(struct unknow * , int argc1, int argc2)
//---------- there some wrong between this understanding, just look at code, this is intermediate think, no helpful tho, ;P
struct unknow at least 0x10 size, cause unknow->0x10 is a ptr, which used to save a 0x400 size arrary(maybe int [0x100])
then let (argc1/ 0x100) * 0x4, so it can be a struct that size 0x40(0x100/ 0x4)' Subscript?
it will used in local a ptr from int __cdecl _malloc_wapper(int) 's return, this first malloc will init array with 0x0000 0000
by this local, the ptr point to a ptr that point to a array int, it can be this int (* i_UnknowArray)[0x400]. I named this ptr in PTR

here is s test of PTR, when it's valid, then argc2 used in set the value in (*PTR)[edx]. which maybe you want set this new malloc array's first elment to argc2, but edx didn't init before this! It can be crashed due to edx=12#!@#$

Or the PTR is NULL in the test before set (*PTR)[edx] , it will call _malloc_wapper(int) again to get a 0x400 size array, and init this array with 0xffff ffff.
//---------------
CPU Disasm
Address Hex dump Command Comments
00634A27 ? 57 push edi
00634A28 ? 56 push esi
00634A29 ? 53 push ebx
00634A2A ? 83EC 2C sub esp,2C
00634A2D ? 8B75 08 mov esi,dword ptr ss:[arg.1]
00634A30 ? 8B5E 10 mov ebx,dword ptr ds:[esi+10]
00634A33 ? 85DB test ebx,ebx
00634A35 ? 74 6A je short ta3d.00634AA1
00634A37 ? C74424 04 00010000 mov dword ptr ss:[local.13],100
00634A3F ? 8B45 0C mov eax,dword ptr ss:[arg.2]
00634A42 ? 890424 mov dword ptr ss:[local.14],eax
00634A45 ? E8 AE010100 call <jmp.&msvcrt.div> ; Jump to msvcrt.ldiv
00634A4A ? 8D3C85 00000000 lea edi,[eax*4]
00634A51 ? 01FB add ebx,edi
00634A53 ? 8B0B mov ecx,dword ptr ds:[ebx]
00634A55 ? 85C9 test ecx,ecx
00634A57 ? 74 0F je short ta3d.00634A68
00634A59 ? 8B45 10 mov eax,dword ptr ss:[arg.3]
00634A5C ? 890491 mov dword ptr ds:[edx*4+ecx],eax //--
00634A5F ? 83C4 2C add esp,2C
also can be crash when load models

it can be this:

Code: Select all

typedef struct tagunknow 
{
    DWORD dw_unknow;
    DWORD dw_unknow;
    DWORD dw_unknow;
    DWORD dw_unknow;
    int * (* pint_unknowArray)[0x100];  
} unknow;

int __cdecl sub_0_634A24(struct unknow * pstu_argc0, int i_argc1, int i_argc2)
{
     int i_temp;
     int i_SubScript; //(not init!)
     int i_divRtn;
     
     if (NULL== (pstu_argc0->pint_unknowArray))
     {
           pstu_argc0->pint_unknowArray= _malloc_wapper ( 0x100* sizeof(int));
           i_SubScript= 0;// it just init in here!!!!!!
           memset (  pstu_argc0pint_unknowArray, 0x0, 0x100* sizeof(int));
     }
     dicRtn= div ( i_argc1, 0x100);
    if (NULL==((pstu_argc0->pint_unknowArray) [divRtn]))
    {
        i_temp= i_SubScript;
       (pstu_argc0->pint_unknowArray) [divRtn]= _malloc_wapper ( 0x400);  
       i_SubScript= i_temp;       
       memset ( (pstu_argc0->pint_unknowArray) [divRtn], 0xff, 0x400);
    }
    ((pstu_argc0->pint_unknowArray) [divRtn]) [i_SubScript]= i_argc2; // so it crash TA3D in here!!!!!

    return i_argc2;// or maybe not return;
}
this crash make me mad, can't play TA3D in 2 weeks /:^\

another one maybe crash, nearly a string "windib"
CPU Disasm
Address Hex dump Command Comments
0042F352 ? C1E2 10 硈hl edx,10
0042F355 ? 31C0 硏or eax,eax
0042F357 ? 90 硁op
0042F358 ? 89D1 弛mov ecx,edx
0042F35A ? C1F9 10 吵sar ecx,10
0042F35D ? 8B73 14 吵mov esi,dword ptr ds:[ebx+14]
0042F360 ? 8A0C0E 吵mov cl,byte ptr ds:[ecx+esi]//-- here ecx can be a invalid value, ffff0000
//
you can local this by search all call to SDL_CreateRGBSurface
into the function which used string "make_texture used with empty SDL_Surface"
just the next call after call SDL_CreateRGBSurface
I didn't pay much attention to this, due to just catch once crash in here, and maybe it crash due to data set.
What crashed game, maybe due to this function didn't check argc1's valid

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by Balthazar » Mon Mar 22, 2010 6:19 am

zuzuf wrote:hm I can't reproduce it. Did you clear the cache when you switched to free data set ?
Yes, I`ve cleared every time cache dir. When I add Anims to /resources/ GUI load halts. I`ll do more testing today to confirm it one more time (I`ve spend a half of an hour to find the exact dir :P )

Maybe the CC+ set of units somehow related, I`ll post more later.

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by zuzuf » Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:35 pm

Balthazar : maybe it's related to your settings, can you try to turn everything off ?

xpoy : I think this crash is related to some texture resizing function. Can you send me your ta3d.log and your ta3d.cfg files ?
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by Balthazar » Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:24 pm

Here`s my logs, maybe they`ll help?
Attachments
logs.rar
(9.47 KiB) Downloaded 1171 times

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by zuzuf » Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:34 pm

Interesting:

Code: Select all

[Mon Mar 22 19:47:44 2010][ta3d][warns] [3ds] WARNING: material not found!!
I might be related (memory corruption ?). Can you try to remove all *.3ds files from the objects3d folders ?
=>;-D Penguin Powered

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by xpoy » Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:18 pm

didin't make sure this log is the one. But I will test some more for log
Attachments
ta3d.rar
(5.7 KiB) Downloaded 1126 times

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by zuzuf » Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:00 pm

Code: Select all

[Mon Mar 15 19:50:17 2010][ta3d][error] [gfx] could not load image file: textures\armbldg\arm07e\thumbs.db (vfs)
[Mon Mar 15 19:50:17 2010][ta3d][error] [gfx] could not load image file: textures\armbldg\arm4a\thumbs.db (vfs)
[Mon Mar 15 19:50:17 2010][ta3d][error] [gfx] could not load image file: textures\armvehic\glass2\thumbs.db (vfs)
This may definitely be a problem on windows ... we'll have to filter file extensions to prevent that kind of errors.

Code: Select all

[Mon Mar 15 19:50:18 2010][ta3d][warns] [3ds] WARNING: material not found!!
Same problem here ... I am going to add more info to this log line
=>;-D Penguin Powered

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by xpoy » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:18 pm

I get a crash when try to exchange full-screen to un-full screen. Look like must test new set as some small execute before set it.
Attachments
ta3d.rar
(6.64 KiB) Downloaded 1081 times

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by zuzuf » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:27 pm

Next time I'll have to built a debug binary because there are too few log outputs here :( .
=>;-D Penguin Powered

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by xpoy » Thu Apr 01, 2010 2:15 am

:P
k, I will test more for faster fix it

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by Balthazar » Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:45 am

Flack cannons don`t hit planes most of time. Thay have some area effect damage in TA, but in TA3D they work different.

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by zuzuf » Sun Apr 11, 2010 9:46 am

Area effect is taken into account, physics too (collisions, etc...). I don't really know why it's different, maybe it's because units aim more accurately and because cannons target planes. OTA's behavior here is unclear, there is no doc on this, no details on how the simulation is affected by the various types of targets used in weapons TDF files.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.6 beta 10 for windows

Post by Balthazar » Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:35 pm

Yeah, I see :P We`ll have to figure how it works :P

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests