SDL port is on its way :)

Everything related to the code /
Tout ce qui touche au code
Post Reply
User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

SDL port is on its way :)

Post by zuzuf » Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:57 pm

I managed to make the GUI work :), still no text but GUI works, and the game loads up to the map : iit crashes because of some obscur stretch_blit which does above some SDL_Surface boundary, which of course isn't great because image data isn't mapped properly.

NB: I get these results on Linux, I didn't even tried to build a win32 binary (it probably won't work since it requires some win32 specific code).

PS: internal color format is now ABGR for everything with Red Green Blue channels
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:16 pm

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Fri Jan 23, 2009 10:26 am

I managed to start a game, I fixed several bugs in texture color management. Currently map texture is loaded correctly, TA GAF files are loaded properly (except some GUI GAFs, don't know why). Texture transparency is buggy (some transparent textures are transparent, some aren't), still no fonts but at least it loads and play (with buggy controls, etc... because some functions are still no implemented correctly).

Since I can't commit from university, expect a big commit tonight :P
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Fri Jan 23, 2009 10:49 am

We`ll be waiting :)

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:28 pm

I think everything is working excepted fonts (still not implemented), so porting to SDL (at least on Linux) is almost done :D
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:17 pm

Will SDL port affect audio part of engine? There`s still some troubles with sound positioning... Maybe we could ask Cire for advice, since it was his part of work...

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:40 pm

Currently SDL is used only for mouse, keyboard, timers, loading images and basic image manipulation. Even if it can be used for audio, FMod is better for now (audio part is independent so it can wait a bit). If there are sound problems, they may be fixed by updating FMod (currently win32 release uses a not so up to date FMod).

Since SDL can also do networking and threads, it may be a good idea to rewrite some of our networking and thread code to use SDL API.

Once SDL is well integrated and things build an every platform, we can think replacing FMod with SDL_mixer (which supports less formats than FMOD but can still play MP3, OGG). And some of you may be glad to know SDL can play CDs too :)

What is great with SDL, is that it lets you control the whole thing, so we can fix much more things (but we'll also run into much more troubles because there are several things to rewrite).
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:06 am

It's getting better and better :)

I can't commit from where I am, so you'll have to wait a bit before seeing the updates :p.

I improved mouse behavior (it's no more laggy). Even reducing the frame rate to 10fps the mouse isn't laggy at all ! Usually I got some lag in mouse movement when I used 3D desktop effects but this is no more the case with SDL 8) .

I fixed several bugs, made several speed improvements, FBI are now converted to UTF8 :) in order to have descriptions/names rendered correctly.

So now I am sure that FTGL uses UTF8 when you give it a char*, it doesn't like ASCII, so no more need for the old uformat system which will be removed soon :), everything will be in UTF 8 :D
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Maximum
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:06 pm

Post by Maximum » Wed Jan 28, 2009 4:49 am

Sounds great, looking forward to the next release. :-)

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:38 am

Yooohooo!! At last I can make russian translation :D

User avatar
Corsaire
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:44 pm

Post by Corsaire » Wed Jan 28, 2009 8:32 am

Balthazar wrote:Yooohooo!! At last I can make russian translation :D
And me Japanese one ;)

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:14 am

Yeah :)

it's time to separate translations in separate files (one per language) and make/use some tool to make it easier than editing a TDF file (we also need to keep some sync of the strings to translate).
=>;-D Penguin Powered

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Post by xpoy » Thu Jan 29, 2009 9:42 am

i can translate simply text,but unpossable a big letter

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Thu Jan 29, 2009 11:57 am

This is not very complex stuffs, you can have a good idea of what it is about in the resources/ta3d.res file which currently contains all the translations we have for TA3D.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:50 pm

And how will translation process will look?

I mean I`m translating the text from ta3d.res and what`s next?

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:59 pm

currently, you just write the translation in the ta3d.res file, like this:

Code: Select all

[text to translate]
{
 FRENCH=texte en français;
 ENGLISH=text in english, required for example when you translate something like "ERROR_RESOURCE_NOT_FOUND";
 RUSSIAN=your work here :);
 ITALIAN=...;
...
}
we'll separate languages soon. A graphical tool which could parse the files and find missing translations would be better but for now we don't have any :cry:
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:19 pm

Any news on SDL port? :D

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:40 pm

I've done some code cleaning today, and rewritten some text related stuffs to support UTF8 :).

Now we have an UTF8 console as well as UTF8 text widgets in GUI :D

And 3DMEditor is working :)

But it still don't build on win32 (SDL and SDL_image dependences are ok but crosscompiling FTGL isn't obvious ...)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:17 am

Well, there is no code troubles that you couldn`t solve :roll:

milipili
Posts: 545
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:52 am
Location: Paris (France)
Contact:

Post by milipili » Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:05 am

I am trying to make ta3d compile on OS X but it is not easy too (it seems that sometimes Freetype and FTGL are not exactly the best friends in the world ^^).

By the way zuzuf, please avoid global headers like TA3D_Namespace.h... It is really really a bad idea.
Damien Gerard
Ta3d & Yuni Developer

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:32 pm

You're right, the code needs some cleaning, but concerning TA3D_NameSpace.h it defines several variables that are required everywhere (the timer, all the game config, ...) so cleaning won't be easy ... (but I agree it's not a good idea since it already takes some time to build)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Sun Feb 01, 2009 4:16 pm

So, where can i grab the new release? :D

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:04 pm

SDL port is a branch of the 0.6.x, you won't see it before the first test package which won't be released before it can be built for win32 :P
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:04 pm

:oops:

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sun Feb 01, 2009 7:52 pm

but we'll keep fixing bugs in 0.5 branch and back port what can be safely ported to 0.5 (orthographic camera, new internal texture format since we removed JPG stuffs in 0.6 branch, ...)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

BPzeBanshee
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:12 am

Post by BPzeBanshee » Mon Feb 09, 2009 9:53 am

This SDL port sounds rather excellent! I hope this means it has more speed on my old 1000 Mhz PC than the OpenGL version.
Or for the Mac OS X compiled one, that weird water glitch gets fixed. :/

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Mon Feb 09, 2009 5:24 pm

SDL branch still uses OpenGL for rendering :), we only replaced Allegro stuffs.

The main idea was to get as much control as possible on everything while still having platform independence at several critical points (window management, keyboard and mouse inputs, fonts, ...). That way we already fixed several bugs (mouse lag, ...) but since the new code hasn't been widely tested we don't really know what has been really fixed and what still has to be fixed (and which new bugs were introduced).

Currently, SDL port is a bit slower for loading (we had to rewrite some critical code that isn't well optimized yet) and should run a bit faster in game (because of the new Font engine being faster ... this is the only noticeable performance improvement here).

SDL will let us fix things we couldn't fix with Allegro, that's the good thing :)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:06 pm

This means much much more :)

BPzeBanshee
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:12 am

Post by BPzeBanshee » Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:50 am

Ah, I see.

When could we be expecting a release/update of 0.5/6.x?

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:26 pm

0.5.3 will be released as soon as OS X packages are ready.

first 0.6 packages should come as soon as we finish rewriting code using SDL stuffs and make it build on all platforms, but don't expect it to be fully playable everywhere before a few test releases.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:48 am

Maybe some 0.5.3. Win32 test build could be test released without OS X?

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Thu Feb 12, 2009 8:07 am

test builds may be released separately for all platforms since we may want to fix platform specific bugs... for example I have no idea of how the game will be running on a real windows whereas I know it's working fine on Linux, so win32 test builds are more useful :)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:31 am

0.5.3 will be released as soon as OS X packages are ready.
test builds may be released separately for all platforms
So when can we get 0.5.3. win32 build?

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:56 am

in fact, it's already uploaded, you can get it by replacing 0.5.2 with 0.5.3 in download links.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:01 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:51 pm

I uploaded it when I built it, several days ago, but it has been waiting there because OS X package isn't ready and we'll announce 0.5.3 when all packages will be ready (but if you use Linux repositories ... you can install/update now since it has already been uploaded to repositories)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

xpoy
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:55 am

Post by xpoy » Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:54 pm

great work.
eh,becareful in use win32 regedit,UTF will be changed in unicode,there word will be cut off that not ascii.

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:07 pm

argh, win32 doesn't support UTF8 ?

I think notepad++ supports it, it's a simple text editor for windows ...

TA3D 0.6 won't support anything else than UTF8 and ASCII loaded from TA files (converted to UTF8 in order to be used with FTGL is we need to display it)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

BPzeBanshee
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:12 am

Post by BPzeBanshee » Sat Feb 14, 2009 4:31 am

I've been aware of Notepad++ for a while now, quite a useful program.

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:48 am

Yeah, I`ve been using Notepad++ for about a year or so :)

Another usefull text editor - akelpad, but it`s much more simplier. :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests